A unique example of Greek Revival architecture, the main house of The Down Easter Inn was built circa 1850 by Gilmore Huston, a ship chandler whose ancestors were among the first settlers of Bristol. The two story porch fronting it is framed by magnificent hand-carved columns with fluted shafts rising 25 feet from bases resting on solid granite blocks and topped by elaborate Corinthian capitals. Both architecturally and historically significant, it is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
Continental breakfast, prepared on premises, is served in the main house dining room from 8-10 AM daily.
No pets are permitted.